After walking around the city all day I wanted to make something easy with what I had in my fridge aka no grocery store stop. I remembered I had leftover veggies from the pizza I made the other day. Here’s a super easy…clean out the fridge meal.

Preheat oven to 400. Cube up any veggies you have on hand. I used red onion, zucchini, eggplant, yellow squash and cherry tomatoes (keep those whole) and toss with olive oil, salt, pepper and herbs de provence (see picture below). Roast until tender, about 15 minutes.

IMG_0002

Cook up some whole wheat pasta, I used rotini…to al dente of course. Before draining off the pasta, save about 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid. Drain the pasta and put back in the hot pot on medium-low heat. Mix the roasted veggies with the pasta, reserved water, a handful of fresh basil, a few ounces of goat cheese, 1/2 cup of ricotta and a generous amount of freshly grated pecorino cheese. Heat until cheese melts and a sauce is formed (about 5 minutes). Finish with a drizzle of olive oil. Enjoy!

IMG_0007

